Full Text
NOT FOR PUBLICATION WITHOUT THE
APPROVAL OF THE APPELLATE DIVISION
This opinion shall not "constitute precedent or be binding upon any court ." Although it is posted on the
internet, this opinion is binding only on the parties in the case and its use in other cases is limited . R. 1:36-3.
SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY
APPELLATE DIVISION
DOCKET NO. A-3749-24
S.C.,1
Petitioner-Appellant,
v.
BOARD OF TRUSTEES,
PUBLIC EMPLOYEES'
RETIREMENT SYSTEM,
Respondent-Respondent.
Submitted September 21, 2026 – Decided September 25, 2026
Before Judges Sabatino and Torregrossa-O'Connor.
On appeal from the Board of Trustees of the Public
Employees' Retirement System, Department of the
Treasury, PERS No. xx2664.
Fusco & Macaluso PC, attorneys for appellant (Amie
E. DiCola, on the briefs).
1
We use initials for appellant because of her confidential medical and mental
health information, portions of which are contained in a confidential appendix
and discussed by necessity in this posted opinion. R. 1:38-3(a); see also
N.J.A.C. 17:1-1.2(c).
Jennifer Davenport, Attorney General, attorney for
respondent (Deborah E. Wassel, Assistant Attorney
General, of counsel; Payal Y. Ved, Deputy Attorney
General, on the brief).
PER CURIAM
S.C., a former State employee, appeals the June 19, 2025 final agency
decision of the Board of Trustees of the Public Employees' Retirement System
("the Board") denying her claim for ordinary disability benefits under N.J.S.A.
43:15A-42. The Board overturned a contrary finding of disability by an
administrative law judge ("ALJ") dated April 14, 2025.
Appellant worked for sixteen years mainly as a technical assistant in the
Department of the Treasury. Her job entailed creating and processing purchase
orders. She reported having an adverse sensitivity to smells in the workplace,
including to perfume worn or intentionally sprayed by co-workers, who she
claimed harassed her about her sensitivity. 2 She reported headaches, nausea,
and other symptoms. Her office building was inspected for possible
environmental contamination, but no testing was done.
Appellant stopped working in June 2020. She moved to Florida and at
that time was in her mid-fifties. She applied initially for accidental disability
2
Apparently appellant pursued claims of workplace harassment without success
and we do not address or comment upon the subject.
A-3749-24
2
benefits, but when that claim was denied, she pivoted to seeking ordinary
disability benefits.
Appellant was evaluated by a board-certified neuropsychiatrist, a private
practitioner who is also a clinical assistant professor of psychiatry at Cooper
Hospital ("appellant's neuropsychiatry expert"). According to that expert's
testimony, his practice is split evenly between patient treatment and clinical
assessments.
In his report, appellant's neuropsychiatry expert diagnosed her with
several disabling conditions, chiefly multiple chemical sensitivities ("MCS").3
The expert stated he has treated several patients with chemical sensitivities in
the past. The expert also diagnosed her with post-traumatic stress disorder and
3
MCS is defined by Stedman's Medical Dictionary as "a symptom array of
variable presentation attributed to recurrent exposure to known environmental
chemicals at dosages generally below levels established as harmful; complaints
involve multiple organ systems." Stedman's Medical Dictionary 809520,
Westlaw (database updated Nov. 2014). Symptoms include "perceived
hypersensitivity to the smell of chemicals, nausea, dizziness, headache, upper
respiratory discomfort, runny eyes, chest and throat pain, arthralgia, dyspepsia,
fatigue, lack of concentration, memory difficulties, depression, anxiety, mood
disruption, and a range of other cognitive and psychological disturbances ."
Gesualdo M. Zucco and Richard L. Doty, Multiple Chemical Sensitivity, 12
Brain Sci. 46, 46 (2022) [https://doi.org/10.3390/brainsci12010046]. The
underlying causes of this syndrome "are not fully understood," and there is
"doubt as to whether MCS is an actual unitary clinical entity." Id. at 47.
A-3749-24
3
other conditions. His report and corresponding trial testimony concluded
appellant is "100% totally and permanently disabled" due to her sensitivity to
chemicals and smells.
The Board countered with expert testimony from a Florida psychologist.
("the Board's psychology expert"). According to his testimony, that expert
almost exclusively does assessments, with very limited treatment cases. He is
not board-certified, although appellant's trial counsel stipulated to his
qualifications to testify in this case. He acknowledged that he has not treated a
patient with a diagnosis of MCS and had no specific training with the condition.
The Board's psychology expert concluded in his report that, as of the time
of his evaluation in 2023, appellant was not disabled. He administered several
psychological tests, identified as M-FAST, Beck Depression Inventory-2, Beck
Anxiety Inventory, the Rey 15-Item test, and the MMPI-3. His report concluded
that the results of those tests "are considered to be largely invalid and
inconsistent with [appellant's] presentation." The expert observed that
appellant's reports of severe symptoms of anxiety and depression were not
manifest during his examination. He noted that two brief measures used to test
for attempts at effort or simulation were in the elevated range, signifying to him
that appellant may be exaggerating her condition.
A-3749-24
4
In October 2024, ALJ Kim C. Belin conducted a one-day hearing at which
appellant and the parties' two experts testified. The ALJ issued a fifteen-page
initial decision on April 14, 2025, concluding that appellant is disabled and
unable to work.
The ALJ found "both doctors provided credible testimony," but noted that
the neuropsychiatrist's opinions were consistent with those of appellant’s
treating physician, who also diagnosed her with MCS. The record reflects that
the treating physician has treated appellant for many years, since 2012. The
physician attested that appellant "suffers from [MCS] causing inflammation
within [the] body, causing shortness of breath, pain of muscles and joints." He
also issued a letter in August 2020 stating that appellant's "chemical sensitivity
condition has severely advanced to permanent damage to her hearing," and that
her "body is unable to recover from repeated injuries from chemicals in the
workplace."
The ALJ also noted that the Board's psychological expert, unlike
appellant's expert, did not have specific training in MCS or treat patients with
the condition. The ALJ further noted that the Board's expert, who examined
appellant in 2023, was unable to opine about whether appellant was disabled
when she left her job three years earlier.
A-3749-24
5
On the whole, the ALJ found the appellant's expert's opinion "more
compelling," and concluded she was entitled to ordinary disability benefits.
The Board took exception to the ALJ's decision and reversed it in a nine-
page final agency decision. The Board rejected the ALJ's expert credibility
findings for several reasons. Among other things, the Board noted that, unlike
appellant's neuropsychiatrist, the Board's expert had performed "extensive"
objective tests, which did not substantiate the claimed disability. The Board
further highlighted a report from a non-testifying Florida clinical
neuropsychologist, who examined appellant in October 2022 and detected "an
exaggeration of psychological distress."
The Board found its own expert's opinion finding no disability was
"entitled to greater weight" because it was "based on objective testing and was
consistent with the treatment records."
Before us, appellant argues the Board failed to give sufficient deference
to the ALJ's role as fact finder and her first-hand opportunity to have evaluated
the credibility of the competing experts. Appellant contends the final agency
decision is arbitrary and capricious, and unfairly rejects the substantial credible
evidence in the record supportive of the ALJ's findings of proven disability. The
A-3749-24
6
Board contends that we must defer to its expertise, and that the final agency
decision recited adequate reasons for overturning the ALJ's determination.
We review these arguments cognizant of several principles. "Our review
of a pension board's decision in the fact sensitive matter of disability retirement
benefits is limited." Rooth v. Bd. of Trs., Pub. Emps.' Ret. Sys.,
472 N.J. Super.
357
, 364 (App. Div. 2022) (citing Allstars Auto Grp., Inc. v. N.J. Motor Vehicle
Comm'n,
234 N.J. 150, 157
(2018)). "PERS and other pension agencies are
owed deference in their implementation of the retirement benefits statute."
Ibid.
(citing Russo v. Bd. of Trs., Police and Firemen's Ret. Sys.,
206 N.J. 14, 27
(2011)).
We are also mindful that traditionally, "an appellate court reviews agency
decisions under an arbitrary and capricious standard." Zimmerman v. Sussex
Cnty. Educ. Servs. Comm'n,
237 N.J. 465, 475
(2019). "In order to reverse an
agency's judgment, an appellate court must find the agency's decision to be
'arbitrary, capricious, or unreasonable, or [ ] not supported by substantial
credible evidence in the record as a whole.'" In re Stallworth,
208 N.J. 182, 194
(2011) (quoting Henry v. Rahway State Prison,
81 N.J. 571, 579-80
(1980)).
"The burden of demonstrating that the agency's action was arbitrary, capricious
A-3749-24
7
or unreasonable rests upon the [party] challenging the administrative action. " In
re Arenas,
385 N.J. Super. 440, 443-44
(App. Div. 2006).
That said, it also has been long recognized that when a contested case is
submitted for a hearing, the agency must review the record submitted by the ALJ
and give attentive consideration to the ALJ's initial decision. N.J. Dep't of Pub.
Advocate v. N.J. Bd. of Pub. Utilities,
189 N.J. Super. 491, 506
(App. Div.
1983). The agency head remains the primary factfinder and maintains the
ultimate authority to reject or modify findings of fact, conclusions of law, or
interpretations of agency policy.
Id. at 507
; see also N.J.S.A. 52:14B-10(c);
N.J.A.C. 1:1-18.6(b). Nonetheless, ALJs are not mere conduits for transmitting
evidence to the agency head, and they should not be considered "second-tier
players or hold an inferior status as factfinders." In re Hendrickson,
235 N.J.
145, 160
(2018). Consequently, when, as here, an agency strays from the factual
findings of an ALJ, we need not accord the agency the level of deference we
ordinarily recognize in reviewing final administrative decisions, although we
are mindful of the agency's greater latitude with regard to the testimony of expert
witnesses as opposed to lay witnesses. See N.J.S.A. 52:14B-10(c).
Applying these principles here, we reverse the Board's final agency
decision and order the reinstatement of the ALJ's initial decision. Although we
A-3749-24
8
respect the Board's role in administering the PERS pension program, the Board's
final agency decision in this case did not adequately justify its total rejection of
the ALJ's detailed findings. Among other things, the Board unduly faulted the
ALJ's credibility findings because appellant's neuropsychologist, unlike the
Board's expert, did not administer psychological tests to confirm his diagnosis
of MCS. The Board's final agency decision does not, however, discuss the
neuropsychologist's testimony that MCS is "largely considered a clinical
diagnosis," and that "testing in this context is not absolutely necessary to derive
at a conclusion." The neuropsychologist did acknowledge that he had
considered the various testing of appellant conducted by other professionals, and
found no need to administer such tests himself. 4
The Board also appears to have placed strong reliance on comments within
a report of the non-testifying neuropsychologist who examined appellant in
October 2022, which stated that "[o]n the Psychological portion of the
assessment, [appellant's] response pattern suggests exaggeration of
4
In this regard, we note the record includes a January 2021 report of a clinical
neuropsychologist who conducted a mental status evaluation of appellant
(apparently for a worker's compensation claim) and tested her cognitive
abilities; he concluded that the results of the examination were "consistent with
the appellant's allegations."
A-3749-24
9
psychological distress." That examiner concluded that "[appellant's] current
level of cognitive functioning is at expected levels of functioning overall" with
"one possible exception to intact cognitive functioning: (a) visual memory." The
examiner added a caveat that "[b]ased on the findings, [appellant's] current
difficulties within visual memory are not clinically significant to qualify for a
diagnosis at this time. As such, no diagnosis will be provided at this time ."
(emphasis added). No other report in the record makes a conclusive diagnosis
of exaggeration or symptom magnification, although the Board's testifying
expert did opine that appellant's examination did not corroborate her subjective
complaints. In addition, the ALJ had the opportunity to hear the testimony of
appellant herself and evaluate the veracity of her contentions.
Given this mixed record with competing opinions, the ALJ was in a unique
position to consider the evidence firsthand and weigh the credibility of
appellant's board-certified neuropsychiatrist against that of the agency's own
testifying expert, who is neither a physician nor board-certified, nor as
experienced with MCS. In the circumstances presented, the agency failed to
justify sufficiently its rejection of the factual findings of the ALJ.
We accordingly reverse the final agency decision.
A-3749-24
10