Full Text
NOT FOR PUBLICATION WITHOUT THE
APPROVAL OF THE APPELLATE DIVISION
This opinion shall not "constitute precedent or be binding upon any court ." Although it is posted on the
internet, this opinion is binding only on the parties in the case and its use in other cases is limited . R. 1:36-3.
SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY
APPELLATE DIVISION
DOCKET NO. A-3070-24
JASON LAWHON,
Petitioner-Respondent,
v.
COUNTY OF MONMOUTH,
Respondent-Appellant.
_________________________
Argued September 16, 2026 – Decided October 14, 2026
Before Judges Mayer and Zazzali-Hogan.
On appeal from the Division of Workers'
Compensation, Department of Labor and Workforce
Development, Claim Petition No. 2021-24792.
Anne M. Hammill-Pasqua argued the cause for
appellant (Capehart & Scatchard, PA, attorneys; Anne
M. Hammill-Pasqua, on the brief).
Charles M. Crocco argued the cause for respondent
(Nelson Fromer Crocco & Jordan, attorneys; Charles
M. Crocco, of counsel and on the brief).
PER CURIAM
In this workers' compensation case, the only issue at trial was the nature
and extent of petitioner Jason Lawhon's permanent injury. Ultimately, the judge
entered judgment for 55% partial disability with a credit of 31% from a prior
work-related injury, which was somewhere between the experts' calculations.
The workers' compensation judge found petitioner and the competing experts to
be credible but found petitioner's expert to be more credible. In his seventeen-
page opinion, the judge made detailed findings of fact based upon sufficient
credible evidence. We affirm.
I.
Petitioner injured his back on October 4, 2021, while lifting a five-gallon
pail onto a truck during his course of employment with respondent County of
Monmouth (County). At that time, he was employed as a heavy equipment
operator. He remained employed in that position on a full duty basis and worked
an additional twenty (20) hours a week at Home Depot. Petitioner began
working part-time at Home Depot in around 2023 to make ends meet because
his wife lost her job. The judge found his explanation reasonable regarding why
petitioner was working a second job despite his injury in order to support his
family and make up the lost income.
A-3070-24
2
Prior to the 2021 incident, petitioner had injured his back at work in 2013
and had a prior partial compensation award of 22.5% for that lumbar injury.
Only a few months before this accident, the award was reopened in July 2021,
which resulted in an increased award of 31% for a permanent partial limitation.
He did not, however, have any work-related restrictions.
According to the County, the complaints in petitioner's disability
application related to the 2013 accident significantly overlapped with his
complaints in this application. The alleged overlap included the inability to lift
over 100 pounds, taking Aleve for pain, trouble walking and climbing stairs,
sleep issues and difficulty performing household chores. The County contends
that the judge did not distinguish which disabilities were attributable to the 2013
accident versus the 2021 accident.
Petitioner had spinal fusion surgery after the 2013 accident. After the
2021 accident, he underwent two additional lumbar fusions, lumbar facet
injections, lumbar epidurals, and a lumbar discectomy. He also had a trial cord
stimulator and eventually a permanent cord stimulator implanted. The workers'
compensation judge noted petitioner required significant treatment and pain
management after the 2021 accident unconnected to the 2013 injury.
A-3070-24
3
In comparing his ability to work before and after the 2021 accident,
petitioner testified he works slower and fatigues faster and attempts to avoid
twisting and bending. Prior to the 2021 accident he was able to lift up to 100
pounds. While describing his Home Depot job responsibilities, petitioner
testified he refrains from lifting anything heavy, takes items from a shelf and
places them in a cart, and then he pushes to the front of the store for customer
pickup. He also receives assistance from co-workers, which he did not need
prior to the 2021 accident.
Petitioner works at the County and Home Depot in constant pain which
"is present every hour of the day." He did not, however, complain of constant
pain prior to the 2021 injury. He went from becoming uncomfortable after
sitting for a half hour and standing for an hour to being unable to sit or stand
without pain. Similarly, although he could walk up to a quarter mile on a good
day and less on a bad day before, he is unable to walk without pain now.
Petitioner also testified about his inability to enjoy ordinary activities of
daily living after the 2021accident. Since the accident, he sleeps only for hour
long intervals before the pain wakes him. He also purchased a $5,000 bed to
help him sleep better but to no avail. Additionally, he no longer goes out with
friends; attends the gym or participates in fishing and crabbing. He testified he
A-3070-24
4
cannot even bend over to brush his teeth. Further, petitioner explained he went
from taking two Aleve pills every night and medication during the day as
necessary, to taking two to three Tylenol two to three times daily. While there
may be overlap between petitioner's pre-2021 and post-2021 limitations, his
testimony supports a material and significant deterioration in his condition after
the 2021 accident.1
Most importantly, the judge found petitioner's testimony to be credible.
Although the County introduced a surveillance video showing petitioner
performing tasks at work in an attempt to discredit him, the judge concluded it
did not show petitioner doing any tasks he testified he cannot do. Therefore, the
County's surveillance evidence did not undermine petitioner's credibility.
During expert testimony, both medical experts agreed petitioner sustained
a permanent disability but differed regarding the severity of his injury. In
assessing the experts' testimony the court first compared their diagnoses. As
noted by the judge, petitioner's expert Dr. Alan Nasar found petitioner suffering
from:
1
To the extent the County contends that the workers' compensation judge failed
to address whether his work at Home Depot aggravated his injury, the County
never raised this issue before the judge. We decline to consider arguments not
presented to the trial court. See State v. Sims,
466 N.J. Super. 346
, 361 (App.
Div. 2021); Fuhrman v. Mailander,
466 N.J. Super. 572
, 596 (App. Div. 2021).
A-3070-24
5
aggravation of pre-existing lumbar disc disease, lumbar
sprain, lumbar disc herniation L5-S1, lumbar
radiculopathy, status post L5-S1 posterior
decompression with fusion and instrumentation, nerve
root impingement with scar tissue at L5-S1, and status
post thoracic laminectomy for implantation of thoracic
dorsal column stimulator, insertion of pulse generator
and fluoroscopy.
Dr. Nasar concluded that petitioner sustained permanent disability to the extent
of 50% partial total over and above the prior award (31% of partial total) for the
lumbar spine, and 30% partial total for the thoracic spine, and that the injuries
were caused by the 2021 accident. This reflected an increase of 50% from the
prior compensation award.
In contrast, the County's expert Dr. Kenneth Peacock concluded that
petitioner had degenerative arthritis, degenerative disc disease and disc
protrusion. He found that petitioner sustained permanent disability at 10% of
permanent partial total, of which he attributed 2 ½ % of permanent partial total
to the 2021 accident. He believed that the remainder was due to unrelated
causes, which he did not explain.
Although the judge made clear that he found both experts to be credible,
he found Dr. Nasar to be more credible for several reasons. First, considering
petitioner's prior surgeries and post-2021 pain management, the judge found it
"suspect" that Dr. Peacock reported a benign examination with no lumbar spasm,
A-3070-24
6
negative straight leg raising test, and no tenderness to the lumbar spine. Second,
the court also raised concerns that some of Dr. Peacock's testimony regarding
petitioner's abilities or lack thereof was inconsistent with petitioner's own
testimony. Third, the judge noted that Dr. Peacock's curriculum vitae indicated
that he never practiced medicine as a treating physician "beyond 1995 during
his hospital appointments." Lastly, because petitioner's expert had examined
him more recently, petitioner's expert was in a better position to assess
permanency.
II.
"Our review of decisions from the workers' compensation court are
decidedly deferential" in recognition of "'the compensation court's expertise and
the valuable opportunity it has had in hearing live testimony.'" Ripp v. County
of Hudson,
472 N.J. Super. 600
, 606 (App. Div. 2022) (quoting Hager v. M&K
Constr.,
246 N.J. 1
, 18 (2021)). Accordingly, our review in workers'
compensation cases is generally "limited to whether the findings made could
have been reached on sufficient credible evidence present in the record . . . ."
Hersh v. Cnty. of Morris,
217 N.J. 236, 242
(2014) (quoting Sager v. O.A.
Peterson Constr., Co.,
182 N.J. 156, 164
(2004)). We reverse a compensation
judge's findings only if "they are 'manifestly unsupported by or inconsistent with
A-3070-24
7
competent relevant and reasonably credible evidence as to offend the interests
of justice.'" McGory v. SLS Landscaping,
463 N.J. Super. 437
, 452-53 (App.
Div. 2020) (quoting Lindquist v. City of Jersey City Fire Dep't,
175 N.J. 244,
262
(2003)). "[W]e review the court's legal findings and construction of
statutory provisions de novo." Hager, 246 N.J. at 18.
In 1979, our Legislature amended the New Jersey Workers' Compensation
Act (the Act), N.J.S.A. 34:15-1 to -147, "to eliminate awards for minor partial
disabilities, to increase awards for the more seriously disabled, and to contain
the overall cost of workers' compensation." Perez v. Pantasote, Inc.,
95 N.J.
105, 114
(1984); see also Schorpp-Replogle v. N.J. Mfrs. Ins. Co.,
395 N.J.
Super. 277, 296
(App. Div. 2007) ("A central objective the Legislature
accomplished through the 1979 amendments is the elimination of minor injuries
not worthy of compensation from serious workplace-induced disabilities . . . .").
In Perez, our Supreme Court articulated a two-part test a petitioner must
meet to merit compensation under the Act: "The first essential that must be met
is a satisfactory showing of demonstrable objective medical evidence of a
functional restriction of the body, its members or organs . . . . [T]he next issue
is determining whether the injury is minor or is serious enough to merit
compensation."
95 N.J. at 116
. The Court in Perez stated that "[m]aterial
A-3070-24
8
lessening of an employee's working ability is a significant, although not
necessarily controlling, criterion in making this determination."
Ibid.
Relying
in part on N.J.S.A. 34:15-7.2C, the Court defined material degree as "an
appreciable degree or a degree substantially greater than de minimums."
Ibid.
The Court also determined that the second component refers to an employee's
capability to perform work duties, as differentiated from disability in the broader
sense to carry on the 'ordinary pursuits of life.'"
Id. at 117
. If there has been an
appreciable impairment of the ability to work, the "lessening criterion has been
satisfied and the claim is compensable."
Ibid.
If there has been no finding of an appreciable impairment, "then the
inquiry must move on to other criteria" such as "whether there has been a
disability in the broader sense of impairment in carrying on the 'ordinary pursuits
of life.'"
Ibid.
The Court explained what kind of conditions would be deemed
minor and therefore, not compensable, including a "minor sprain, minor
laceration, minor contusion, mild dermatitis or mild bronchitis -- is not
compensable."
Ibid.
Therefore, a condition that does not impair an employee's
working ability will be compensable only if it is serious enough to interfere
substantially with other aspects of the employee's life."
Ibid.
III.
A-3070-24
9
In this case, the workers' compensation judge properly determined
petitioner satisfied the Perez requirements. First, there was a satisfactory
showing of demonstrable objective medical evidence supporting petitioner's
testimony that his functioning had decreased including "significant loss of range
of motion in flexion, extension, lateral tilting and lumbar twisting, and
diminished sensation and weakness in both legs." As explained by the judge,
Dr. Nasar also referenced an MRI, which revealed a "significant" lumbar spine
injury that required two invasive back surgeries, and he recited in detail
petitioner's symptoms, tests that were performed and his own findings and
diagnoses.
There was also a material "lessening of his working ability and to a greater
extent permanent impairment in carrying out his ordinary pursuits of life." The
judge found that the second injury resulted in more difficulty, if not an
impossibility, performing tasks such as lifting, twisting, bending, walking,
standing and sitting. He noted that petitioner now needed assistance from co-
workers. Because there was an appreciable impairment of the ability to work,
petitioner has satisfied Perez. We therefore reject the Court's assertion that the
judge failed to distinguish between petitioner's complaints from his 2013 and
2021 injuries. The judge made clear that he considered petitioner's disability,
A-3070-24
10
prior symptoms and limitations as well as current symptoms and limitations. He
explained why there was a substantial increase in permanency even though
petitioner may now work more frequently.
Even if the judge had found there was no appreciable impairment, he
considered the last factor under Perez, which examines how an injury has
affected the employee's ordinary pursuits in life. Specifically, the judge found
petitioner experienced a decrease in enjoyment of activities such that he no
longer socializes or frequents the gym and experiences increased pain
performing simple tasks such as sitting, standing or even brushing his teeth.
Based upon the foregoing, we are satisfied that the judge's conclusions were
supported by and consistent with competent, relevant and credible evidence.
Affirmed.
A-3070-24
11